In the summer of 1610, a group of English colonists landed at Cuper’s Cove, Conception Bay, on the wild east coast of Newfoundland. They built a tiny settlement where the town of Cupids now stands. It was the first English colony in what later became Canada.
Led by merchant John Guy and backed by investors in Bristol and London, the group wanted to make a base in Newfoundland to protect the cod fishery for England. They also hoped to establish fur trade with the native Beothuk people. After erecting buildings for shelter during their first winter, the men built several small boats for fishing. They also built a larger decked sailing boat to explore the nearby coast and to locate the Beothuk people. Named Indeavour, the vessel was launched in 1611. Its builders followed designs used in England at the time. Much of what we know about Cuper’s Cove and its boats comes from journals and letters of John Guy and his men. Research into 17th-century sailing vessels and other small craft has helped re-create Indeavour’s design, the building scale models, and the detail of its construction.
The exhibition consists of 8 interpretation panels, 4 two-sided folding panel stands, a scale model and construction model (both in display cases), 24” wooden carving of a 17th-century boatbuilder (by artist Kevin Coates), Beothuk cut-out and various props (wooden barrels, timber, rope).
Required Exhibition Space
Exhibition available November 2016.
Rental time: Up to 16 weeks.
$3,000 (transportation not included)
Research document written and used by Robert Halliday to build a scale model.